Has anyone ever used this service before? Are they legit? Thinking that if something seems too good to be true it probably is....but just wondering if the experienced out there know anything that mibght be helpful. Thanks!
This message has been edited. Last edited by: Jim C.,
Posts: 4 | Location: us | Registered: November 12, 2007
All I can say is that it doesn't make sense. They are advertising Carnival cruises for less than CCL's system has them listed. Then giving free airfare and transfers. Sounds too good to be true to me. I didn't go far enough to put in any personal info. I would also like if anyone has booked through them to post.
Dwayne
Posts: 5890 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: August 22, 2005
Welcome to Cruise-Chat! Since I have never heard of the site before and I'm in the industry, I decided to go to the site and check it out. The first thing that struck me is that there is no phone number anywhere on the site. even when you click on the "Contact Us" tab it generates a fill in the blank email format with no phone, name or email address to anyone specific with the company.
I thought perhaps I was being overly skeptical and proceeded to perform a mock booking online using fictitious info other than a real email address because I want to lay eyes on whatever they may send as follow up info. The second red flag was when I arrived at the payment taking screen. There was no box to allow for a credit card (which can be disputed and often reversed in cases of fraud). No PayPal option, common on reputable online only purchase sites like EBay and others. The only tab that appeared was a Western Union, CashGram option. You have to pay with something that has no protection in case of fraud.
I'm an agent for an online agency I'm proud to work for. I know of other online agencies that are reputable as well. Not accusing, not saying it's a fraud, not implying that these possibly suspicious things are cause for alarm but I do think they are cause for concern and more digging before you pass any of your hard earned dollars their way.
Perhaps someone here has had experience with them and can tell you of those experiences.
If it is legit, I and every other T/A in the world is out of a job soon because there is no way to provide free air from air gateways all over the world for free with a $500. cruise fare. The math just doesn't work.
I deleted the website address from your title. Based on what Dwayne and Neil found out about your questioned website I did not want anyone going there and being scammed.
Since you are brand new to Cruise-chat, I can't be sure that you are not invloved ad trying to get some free web site advertising. (I don't think you are, but you can't be too careful)
You already got great advice from both Dwayne and Neil.. steer very clear of any website that only allows payment via "cash" methods. You may as well just throw your money out the window as you are driving down the road...
If you are NOT one of the scammers.. then you are most welcome here at cruise chat.
CCL Fantasy 1990 CCL Celebration 1995 CCL Victory 2005 CCL Conquest 2005 CCL Spirit June 2006 NCL Dream October 2006 RCCL Mariner OTS June 2007 CCL Freedom June 2008 CCL Holiday July 2008
thanks for the info to those who responded. Like I mentioned, I have not ever taken a cruise before and so I don't really know what to look for in terms of pricing, etc.. Just trying to find a fun, warm Christmastime trip for the family that won't cost us a fortune. I'm still doing research -- haven't found them on scam.com but I also haven't found anyone who has used them either. I guess we'll probably end up having a white christmas after all. Thanks again. If I find anything out, I'll post and let you all know.
Posts: 4 | Location: us | Registered: November 12, 2007
I'm still doing research -- haven't found them on scam.com but I also haven't found anyone who has used them either. I guess we'll probably end up having a white christmas after all.
Not necessarily, four. You can talk to an experienced cruise selling travel agent, who will work hard to get you the best deal, and who is reputable and will not scam you.
The week of Christmas and New Years cruise prices nearly double. If you go a week earlier or a week later, you'll get some great prices. If you don't mind Santa being a little late or a little early, you could have a great white sand vacation with warm ocean breezes and beautaiful blue water. Like Sandy said, a good TA who is a cruise specialist can make it happen. Best wishes!
Imagine this: It's Christmas morning and all of the presents are opened, except for one, and it has your name on it! It's so beautifully wrapped, and you can't begin to guess what could be inside. You remove the wrapping paper exposing a plain cardboard box. You open the box... IT'S YOUR NEXT WEEK'S DOCUMENTS!!! Then you spouse says: "Merry Christmas Honey!"
It looks like the website might be owned by someone in Europe. I agree with the others there are too many unanswered questions. If you have to dig that hard to find something then run! A cruise oriented Travel Agency should be able to help you find the right cruise in your budget.
Fourlakes- Like the others have said, trying to get on a ruise for the Christmas break is NOT going to be cheap. If at all possible, go after (the week of the 6th of Jan.) All the big cruiseline are running specials for that week.
Of course you may not be able to go at that time, but if you can, that is your best bet. The cruise lines are experts at knowing what dates are good travel dates for people and always bump up the fares for those dates.
CCL Fantasy 1990 CCL Celebration 1995 CCL Victory 2005 CCL Conquest 2005 CCL Spirit June 2006 NCL Dream October 2006 RCCL Mariner OTS June 2007 CCL Freedom June 2008 CCL Holiday July 2008
If you go to www.networksolutions.com/whois you will be able to get all of the information on any website, the name of the registrant, their address, contact telephone numbers, etc. Network Solutions is (I believe) the original domain registration company - that I have used for years registering all of my company websites.
(Jim - I hope my providing the above company name doesn't violate some rule but I feel this is good info for anyone needing to research questionable websites.)
Posts: 665 | Location: The Southwest | Registered: May 08, 2006
I too have missed seeing you post and am glad to see you back. I use Network Solutions as well. Excellent customer service. Thanks for the info. about the whois.
Dwayne
Posts: 5890 | Location: South Carolina | Registered: August 22, 2005
Hey Chuck, no rules broken by your post. It was good information. I had used them to track the IP but didn't think of doing the whois on the website Domain.
Doing so puts the owner in Orlando Florida (with a 888 contact phone number) and the technical support contact in Toronto, Canada.
The domain name was only registered 10/15/2007 so it is a NEW sight.
This doesn't mean that the site is legit, but its better than having the site owned offshore.
I still don't like it.
CCL Fantasy 1990 CCL Celebration 1995 CCL Victory 2005 CCL Conquest 2005 CCL Spirit June 2006 NCL Dream October 2006 RCCL Mariner OTS June 2007 CCL Freedom June 2008 CCL Holiday July 2008
Just an FYI, That 888 number is a fax only line. I've got some folks where I work checking into it with the cruiselines to see if their licensed logos are being used with permission or were copied and pasted in to provide the appearance of legitimacy. Now that the site name is removed I'll simply say that it doesn't pass the smell test. If it smells rotten on the surface...
Thanks for the help Neil! I hate to see people get taken advantage of and if that is what is happening here, I would like it stopped. If the cruise line's logos are being used without permission, they have the resources to act.
CCL Fantasy 1990 CCL Celebration 1995 CCL Victory 2005 CCL Conquest 2005 CCL Spirit June 2006 NCL Dream October 2006 RCCL Mariner OTS June 2007 CCL Freedom June 2008 CCL Holiday July 2008